Let’s Talk About Great Teachers

The Helena Education Foundation’s “Let’s Talk about Great Teachers” Awards began in 2007 as part of Great Conversations to honor educators in Helena’s Public Schools who are extraordinary and who exceed expectations in serving students, their peers and their community.  For many years LTAGT’s were sponsored by Dr. Timothy Ballweber. When Dr. Ballweber retired, Adam and Marlene Ostby of Ballweber and Ostby Orthodontics kindly took over sponsorship of this important program.

Educators selected for this honor meet one or more of the following criteria:

  • Commitment to HEF programs and goals
  • Demonstrated above and beyond commitment to students
  • Demonstrated commitment to teaching outside the usual classroom routine and day

2020 Great Teachers

  • Sol Jones, Assistant Principal – CRA Middle School
  • Robert Worthy – Sodexo
  • Kristan Roush, School Age Child Care – Lincoln School
  • Ashlie Buresh – Bryant Elementary School
  • Jake Spearson – Helena High School
  • Jill Putnam – Jefferson Elementary School
  • Kathy Kidder – Assistant Principal, Capital High School
  • Deb Sargent, Nurse – Helena High School

View videos celebrating the 2020 Let’s Talk About Great Teachers 

2019 Great Teachers

  • Bob Tipton – Math, CR Anderson Middle School, math
  • Jeramie Robinson – counseling, Capital High School
  • Cal Boyle – principal, Helena Middle
  • Joanne Didriksen – librarian, Helena High School
  • Melody Wall – Kindergarten, 4G’s Elementary School
  • Kayla Ryan – 4th grade, Bryant
  • Jake Warner – math Capital High School
  • Laura Trapp – librarian, Rossiter Elementary School

2018 Great Teachers

  • Sarah Stankowiak, Functional Life Skills Teacher, 4-Gs
  • Manny Garza – Counselor, Helena High School
  • Sam Leonard – Access to Success
  • Maureen Hunthausen, 6th Grade Teacher, Helena Middle School
  • Christina Sieminski, Science Teacher, Capital High School
  • Sarah Urban, Biology Teacher, Capital High School
  • Ashley Fish, 1st Grade Teacher, Jim Darcy

I am humbled by this flattering recognition and it is so comforting to know the weight of such a superb community is supporting education here in Helena.

Sam Leonard
Access to Success Teacher

2017 Great Teachers

  • Brian Cummings-Principal-Jim Darcy
  • Dennis Peterson-Math-Capital High School
  • Greg Wald-English- PAL
  • Jake West- Resource-CRA Middle School
  • Marla Unruh-Librarian-Broadwater Elementary
  • Christine Thennis-Sciences- Helena High School
  • Erin Finstad- Bryant School

2016 Great Teachers

  • Joice Franzen, Librarian at Bryant
  • Kristen Uggetti Lyndes, 4th grade at Smith
  • Justine Alberts, 4th grade at Kessler
  • Allison Kaufman-Special Services at HMS
  • Kendra Selser- Nurse at CRA
  • Brett Zanto- Principal at CHS

2015 Great Teachers

  • Matt Lyng
  • Jim Weber
  • Jena Anderson
  • Chris Ralph
  • Linda Safty-Unsworth
  • Suzy Fabian
  • Siobhan Hathom

2014 Great Teachers

  • Doug Dellwo
  • Mary Anderson, C.R. Anderson
  • Tirzah Bruski
  • Chuck McGurn
  • Ann Bartsch
  • Josh Mckay, Helena Middle School
  • Denise Thomas, Helena High School

2013 Great Teachers

  • Pam Aldrich, Four Georgians Elementary
  • Kevin Cleary, C.R. Anderson Middle School
  • Karry Hauck, Four Georgians Elementary
  • Joan Leik, Helena High School
  • Gary Myers, Rossiter Elementary
  • Terri Norman, Capital High School
  • Sue Sweeney, Broadwater Elementary

2012 Great Teachers

  • Janet Erickson, Helena Middle School
  • Bill Kaiser, Capital High
  • Jennifer Loomis, Capital High
  • Nancy Peterson, Kessler Elementary
  • Willie Schlepp, Helena High
  • Sandee Sept, Central Elementary and Kessler Elementary
  • Sandy Wardell, Helena High

2011 Great Teachers

  • Kathy Boutilier, Capital High and Hawthorne Elementary
  • Jodi Delaney, Broadwater Elementary
  • Tom Pedersen, Capital High
  • Jon Runnalls, Starbase
  • Greg Upham, Helena High
  • Katy Wright, Hawthorne Elementary

2010 Great Teachers

  • Tina Brothers – Jim Darcy Elementary
  • Angela Clark – Jefferson Elementary
  • Kristen Lyndes – Helena High School
  • Jim McGrane – Helena Middle School
  • John Miller – Capital High School
  • Shelly Pelc – Smith Elementary
  • Michael Weller – C.R. Anderson Middle School

2009 Great Teachers

  • Mike Agostinelli – Smith Elementary
  • Deb Jacobsen – Hawthorne Elementary
  • Katie Meyer – Helena Middle School
  • Lisa Parker – Helena High School
  • Paul Phillips – Capital High School
  • Kari Wald – Bryant Elementary

2008 Great Teachers

  • Pam Campbell – Bryant Elementary
  • Amanda Curtis – Helena Middle School
  • J.J. Lamb – Warren Elementary
  • Char Lawrence – Capital High School
  • Tom Mazanec – C.R. Anderson Middle School
  • Don Pogreba – Helena High School

2007 Great Teachers

  • Helen Bosch – Capital High School
  • Kelly Elder – C.R. Anderson Middle School
  • Terry Middaugh – Bryant Elementary
  • Jason Neiffer – Capital High School
  • Steve Thennis – Helena High School

Our Sponsor